Clean 9 to Cloud 9…?

FullSizeRender

Last September, I fell off my 6″ heels and broke my foot, at a night called ‘Break Stuff’ ironically enough. (I also did my ligament in in the process because, you know, go hard or go home.) I’ve always been something of a fitness enthusiast, and as I was recently single I not only had the spare time, but also the incentive of a revenge body for motivation. Well – that fell flat on it’s face almost as spectacularly as I did when my ankle went out from under me – rendering me out of action for months (aka: the longest period of time I have ever encountered, aside from yesterday’s 43 minute date).

Come January I was back in my stride, I was back to being incapable of picking up anything off the floor after leg day, my arms didn’t wobble when I clapped above my head at a gig and those lines down the sides of my abs were re-appearing.

Then I dropped a storage heater weighing the equivalent of a small house on my (other) foot, and put myself firmly back to square one. FFS.

So I decided that 2017 started in March, and the first two months of the year were just practice runs. I’ve always been a fan of a good old spring clean, and while usually this means chucking a load of old clothes in a carrier to take to the charity shop, this time I meant business – I wanted to wipe the slate clean and hit ‘reset’ on every aspect of my life.

I’d heard about Clean 9 (mainly from people trying to sell it to me on Facebook), but it never crossed my mind to try it as I thought it was just another faddy crash diet. I’m not even 8 stone, so it’s safe to say it wasn’t on my radar, however after more than a few people telling me how much better they felt afterwards, I decided increased energy levels, a complete flush out, and looking and feeling better was worth a shot.

Those people neglected to mention that that ‘shot’ was pure Aloe Vera – taken in two massive 60ml measures, four times a day. It has the consistency of wallpaper paste and an aftertaste not dissimilar to when you drink out of a cup that’s still got a bit of washing up liquid in the bottom. It’s not pleasant. But I’ve tasted worse.

So the plan is this, 2 days of (pretty much) fasting, before a 600 calorie a day diet for the remainder of the time. This is accompanied by so many vitamins I’m in danger of starting to rattle when I walk, a protein shake (that’s actually delicious), a fibre sachet (me thinks this has less to do with getting nutrients in your body than it has to do with acting as a hypothetical ‘cork’) and a list of free foods that I can’t even be bothered to chew.

Day One

Chest: 31″ (#blessed right?) | Waist: 28″ | Hips: 34″ | Weight: 7 stone, 9lbs

I carefully read the instructions, took my tablets, waited half an hour and at 7.17am this morning I had my first glass of Aloe before leaving for work. At 7.47am I had thrown up in the street. Twice. (Yeah I realised too late that when it said ‘take with water’ that the water was meant to act as a chaser, not the veritable cocktail that I had mistakenly created – thus prolonging the agony).

By 10.30am, my stomach was demonstrating what can only be described as the mating call of a family of whales, and I was harbouring homicidal thoughts towards anyone lucky enough to drink an actual cup of tea. Then I had the protein shake, and I felt better… before running to Tesco to stock up on as many of the free foods I could carry.

Come mid-afternoon something surprising happened… I started to feel… ‘full’. Don’t get me wrong I wasn’t unbuttoning my jeans and doing that over-exaggerated exhale that only comes after a proper massive meal, but I wasn’t hungry either. I thought I was gonna be seriously lagging, but I actually came home, did a workout and decided I was gonna do it properly and stick to the ‘fast’. Eating’s Cheating. So far, so… undecided. But I don’t start thing I have no intention of finishing – so I’m gonna share all the gory details with you lot. Let’s see if it’s all it’s cracked up to be eh?

 

 

If you can be nice, and not spam the fuck out of my blog - please leave a comment...

