“Tell me why – you don’t like Mondays…” *Bob Geldof voice*

monday

Here’s the thing, Monday’s get a bad rap. Pre-9am on the first day back to work after the weekend, my (and no doubt yours too) Social Media feed is filled with mock despair about ‘the worst day of the week’.

I used to hate Mondays too, when I hated my job, my life, and the fact that I had to drag my ass out of bed and leave the house in the morning to go and spend my day being miserable. I remember one job a few years ago, where the commute was substantial. I was so worn down by the atmosphere, lack of respect and appreciation, restrictions on my growth and overall stress levels that a few weeks before I was signed off sick for 4 months, I found myself standing at the top of the stairs down to the platform at New Street Station and thinking: “If I tripped now and broke my leg, I wouldn’t have to go in today…” I am not for a second joking. I knew I had to leave. So I did.

I have a theory – and do correct me if I’m wrong here. But you don’t hate Monday’s, you hate going back to the routine of your working week that you are unhappy with, the same reason you love 5pm on a Friday right? We’d all love to spend our days swanning around to exotic locations on a yacht drinking Prosecco on tap (no – just me?), but the reality is we have to earn a living to live, and so if you’re going to be spending a minimum of 7 hours a day, 5 days a week doing something – it may as well be something you enjoy. (Side note – stay at home moms and dads I totally don’t include you in this!)

This is where the power of positivity comes in. Now, I LOVE Mondays. For me, they symbolise another fresh start, a time to set good intentions for the week ahead and go into it full gusto. It helps that I love my job, and it took me a long time to find what I was supposed to do, going from being a Graphic Designer, a Holiday Rep, a Recruitment Consultant (very briefly), a Chef, a Marketing Assistant, an Administrator and an Office Manager before becoming the Digital Marketing Manager I am today. My job enables me to communicate, write, promote, work with social media, websites and analytics, learn, organise and create. It is literally all of my strengths rolled into one, and I finally have a place where I can deploy them all. I also work with an amazing bunch of like-minded people.

I’m a right jammy bitch, aren’t I? Well actually, no, I’m not. All of this has come to me BECAUSE of my positive attitude towards it. It didn’t fall in my lap! One valuable thing I have learned, especially in this most recent change of role, is that even if you are not where you want to be, or doing what you want to do right now – make the most of it. Find the positive elements, and relish the bits that you enjoy. See what a difference it makes to your day, your work and your relationships with your colleagues. It’s easier said than done, but it can be done. Appreciate your job and your work, even if it’s only for the fact that it allows you to pay your bills and gives you a reason to get up in the morning – if you go into your day focusing on the good things you can achieve and receive, then I promise you Monday’s won’t seem so bad after all, and the change that you want will come to you.

If you can be nice, and not spam the fuck out of my blog - please leave a comment...

